← Back to Institutional Records

Nechako Community Church – Vanderhoof, BC

Proper Title

Nechako Community Church fonds

Dates of Creation


Physical Description

2 mm of textual records

Administrative History

In the winter of 1983, eight families in Vanderhoof, BC, met and agreed to explore the possibility of planting a new congregation that would be geared towards reaching those who had “dropped out” of church as well as those who had never attended a church. As a result of this meeting, a request was made to the Board of Church Extension of the BC Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches to become involved in planting a new church. Nick Dyck, executive secretary of the Board of Church Extension, and Paul Fast, board chairman, were involved in counseling the group.

On Mother’s Day weekend, the newly formed fellowship asked John Hiebert, former associate pastor at Kennedy Heights, and his family to visit their church. After a time of discussion and prayer, they extended the call to the Hieberts to become the first pastor couple of Nechako Community Church. They accepted, and arrived at the end of July in time for the first baptismal service.

In August of the first year, the fellowship had 22 charter members who committed themselves to each other and the church.

From the beginning, the congregation met in a local elementary school. Two cell groups were formed, and met in members’ homes for fellowship and Bible study. The youth also met regularly.

In winter 1984, attendance averaged around 85 people, and membership was at 27. It was at this time that the decision was made to purchase property so that they could have a permanent meeting place. However, it was not until 3 December 1989 that the congregation occupied their first building. In 1995, the church hired an associate pastor to oversee family ministries, evangelism and discipleship.

Average attendance in 2008 was around 200, while by 2010 average attendance was 150.

Leaders of the congregation include the following: John Hiebert (1984–1989), Hugo Reimer (1989–2008), Johnny Thiessen (2010–2012), Denis Federau (2013–2016), Ed Drewlo, transition pastor (2016–2017), Ryan van Kuik (2018– ).

Scope and Content

This fonds consists of a brief history and bulletins.


  • Location: Volume 391.
  • Description by Shauna Hudson, June 24, 2004; edited by Sheralyn Heinrichs, August 12, 2005.
  • No restrictions on access.
  • Finding aid consists of a file list.

File List

Volume 391

1. Bulletins. -- 1990.
2. Bulletin. -- 1993.

← Back to Institutional Records