← Back to Institutional Records

Cedar Mountain Community Church – Squamish, BC

Proper Title

Cedar Mountain Community Church fonds

Dates of Creation


Physical Description

1 mm of textual records and 1 photo

Administrative History

In September 1979, Mr. Cliff Kilbreath called Nick Dyck of Abbotsford to see if he was interested in starting a work in Valleycliffe. (Sometime before September 1979, the Mennonite Brethren Extension program had indicated that they would be.) They began to hold a weekly Bible study and prayer meetings to lay the matter before the Lord.

It was decided to begin church services in January 1980. They met in an office in the Stawmus Mall until the church building was completed. Nick Dyck, along with visiting pastors, took on the responsibility of services at that time. It was also decided to keep the denominational aspect low key for the time being because all the original members came from various backgrounds. When sufficient members joined, they would decide whether to become affiliated with the Mennonite Brethren Conference or not.

A Sunday school was begun in the summer of 1980, and the first ladies meeting was held on January 18 of that same year. Pastor John and Eva Esau were called to pastor the church, and they began their work in May of 1980. The first baptismal service took place on Sunday, September 7, 1980, at the Squamish Baptist Church. Two people were baptized at that time.

A sod-turning ceremony for a church building took place on September 25, 1980, and construction began that fall. But by the middle of February, the Esau’s made it public that they were resigning because of Mrs. Esau’s ill health. The Board of Church Extension of the BC Conference recommended Sam and Dora Penner as pastoral replacements. The church did officially extend the invitation to the Penners, and they accepted. They began their work at the church in April 1981. The church celebrated their charter service on March 29, 1981, and was accepted into the Provincial Conference in June. By March 1982, the church building was ready for use, and a dedication service was held June 20, 1982. In 2002, the church changed its name to Cedar Mountain Community Church.

The congregation closed in October 2006.

Leaders of the congregation include John Esau (1980–1981), Sam Penner (1981–1991), Dan Neufeld (1991– 1993), Heinz Ratzlaff (1993–1995), Vic Peters (1996–1999), Rudie Willms (2002–2003), Rick Janzen (2003–2005).

The language of worship is English.

Scope and Content

This fonds consists of a brief history of the Valleycliffe Christian Fellowship.


  • Location: Volume 395.
  • Description by Shauna Hudson, June 25, 2004.
  • Finding aid consists of a file list.
  • No restrictions on access.

File List

Volume 395

1. ValleyCliffe Christian Fellowship – How it Came About, Sam Penner. -- 1985.

← Back to Institutional Records